Home Lifestyle Team HG’s Summer Reading Recommendations

Team HG’s Summer Reading Recommendations

by Jordan and Joelle Hernandez
0 FacebookTwitterPinterestEmail

The hot summer days are here. Whether relaxing on the beach, in transit to a tropical location, chilling in an air-conditioned living room, or enjoying a day at the park, a good book is a perfect companion. This summer, so many great books have been released that it’s sometimes hard to pick. We have rounded up a few summer reading recommendations that will complete any summer plans. We recommend shopping locally or renting from the library when you are able in order to support growing authors and keep bookstores and libraries alive. Read on to check out our list of summer reading recommendations.

Summer Reading Recommendations

A Hundred Other Girls by Iman Hariri-Kia

A Hundred Other Girls

(Photo Credits: @imanharirikia)

When a book says it’s “for fans of The Devil Wears Prada and The Bold Type,” it must be good. This debut novel tells the story of a Middle Eastern aspiring writer and blogger named Noora as she navigates the working world of NYC. Noora lands a role that she thinks will get her foot in the door at a major publication, but it turns out to be more of a nightmare than a great opportunity. This book explores the depths to which a person is willing to go to hold on to a flashy career that so many other people would kill to have. 

Keya Das’s Second Act by Sopan Deb

Keya-Das-Second-Act

(Photo Credits: @Soap07)

Family secrets and regrets are prominent themes in this summer release. Main character Shantau Das has a series of terrible events occur that push him away from his Bengali American community: the divorce of his wife and the death of his daughter, Keya. Even worse, he regrets not accepting Keya after she came out as gay. When Shantau comes across an old manuscript of Keya’s and is convinced to make it into a play, he hopes to get the redemption he is looking for. This book is a page turner of twists, turns, relationships, forgiveness, and more.

Read More: Readers Share Where They Met Their Partners in Hoboken

Speak: How to Find Your Voice, Trust Your Gut, and Get from Where You Are to Where You Want to Be by Tunde Oyeneyin

Speak Tunde Oyeneyin

(Photo Credits: @tune2tunde)

Whether you are a Peloton rider or not, fitness instructor Tunde Oyeneyin has something in store for everyone in her recently released memoir. After losing half of her immediate family in less than six years and discovering that the job she thought would be a dream to obtain wasn’t, Tunde had to decide if she was going to let life take over or if she was going to take over her life. This memoir allows you to follow her twists and turns all while being inspired to lead your dream life. It’s a book you won’t be able to put down.

See More: Writers Who Have Lived in Montclair

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus

Book lovers have seen this book grace lists like the New York Times Bestseller, Good Morning America Book Club Pick, and NPR’s Best Books of 2022. Set in 1960’s California, Lessons in Chemistry tells the all-too-familiar story of an intelligent and successful woman in a male-dominated workplace. Elizabeth Zott is a chemist who falls in love. After heartbreak, she ends up as an unlikely cooking show star where she uses her unique skills to show women they can be anything they set their mind to. The characters in this one are funny and witty and bring to life a whole new perspective on science.

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

The Daughter of Doctor

(Photo Credits: @silviamg.author)

This is a pick for those who love suspense in a good thriller. This is yet another hit after the author’s last book, Mexican Gothic, and Silvia Moreno-Garcia is ready to take readers on a wild ride. Combining both history of nineteenth century Mexico and science fiction, this novel ties together the story lines of three characters who are all living a relatively calm life until the arrival of Eduardo Lizalde, the son of a patron of Dr. Moreau. He throws a wrench into their harmony and unravels a series of events. The Daughter of Doctor Moreau will satisfy those looking for fantasy, historical fiction, science, and thriller.

Violeta by Isabel Allende

Born during the Spanish Flu and then living through the Great Depression and the Great War, Violeta has a life that is marked by extraordinary events. She was born in 1920 and has lived for 100 years, seeing the rise of civil rights, women’s fight for equality, and two pandemics. This story is told in letter form detailing heartbreak, passion, loss of money, relationships, and more. A beautiful combination of heavy emotion, humor, and literature is in this highly recommended book.

read more button

also appears in

0 comment